Bloomfield (NJ) Presbyterian Church on the Green
Note: you have found your way to our old website. Please visit our new site at .
About Us
From the Pastor
From the Clerk of Session
Worship Calendar & Sermons
50th Anniversary Worship Service
This Week on the Green
This Month on the Green
News and Events
Sanctuary Restoration Update
Womens Fellowship
Our Choirs
Map and Directions
Thrift Shop
Food Pantry
Feed the World
Check out our Worship Banners
Support Our Church
Presbyterian Church USA
Presbyterians in Mission
Presbytery of Newark
Boy Scout Troop 2 Homepage
Join our mailing list
E-mail us

About Us

You are cordially invited to participate in the worship, life and ministry of our congregation.

We are both the oldest and the youngest Presbyterian church in Bloomfield, New Jersey. The church building in which we worship was begun in 1797 and served as the home of the First Presbyterian Church of Bloomfield until 1966. In that year, our church family was born when four Bloomfield congregations, including "Old First", Westminster Presbyterian Church, Park Avenue Presbyterian Church, and Ampere Community Church, merged to form the present Church on the Green. Our congregation is a member of the Newark Presbytery and is affiliated with the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.)

Our Leaders

Our church follows a democratic process of discernment in choosing leaders. The congregation elects Ruling Elders to serve on the Session, the governing body of the church, which is moderated by the Pastor. The congregation also elects members to serve on the Board of Deacons to work alongside the Pastor to provide spiritual nurture and care to the community. Unique to the Presbyterian tradition, we ordain our Elders and Deacons to their ministries just as we ordain our Pastor.

Current members of the Session and Board of Deacons, with Pastor Ruth.

2016 Church Officers The Session

Class of 2016: Nancy Edmond, Janis Sledge

Class of 2017: Don Cornell, Dr. Clifford Toliver, Liz Hemminger, Scott Maciag

Class of 2018: Ethelyn Fulton (Clerk), Manuel Rodriguez, Eve Space, Susan Turnbull

The Board of Deacons

Class of 2016: John Bonnet (Moderator), Barbara Turnbull, Judy Skorupski

Class of 2017: Joanne Vandenbroek, Deborah LeDoux

Class of 2018: Janice Fulton, Mala Maharaj, Beverly Monahan

Home | Worship | News | Pastor | Clerk | Directions | Thrift Shop | Food Pantry Support Our Church Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2011, Bloomfield Presbyterian Church on the Green, All Rights Reserved.